You can connect with others going through a similar cancer experience

by joining one of our many support groups. Our support groups are safe and supportive. They bring people from all walks of life together to share their concerns about their blood cancer experience without the fear of being judged or misunderstood.

If you are feeling a sense of detachment or isolation even if you are surrounded by friends and family who care for you, joining a support group may give you an extra outlet to validate your feelings among people who are also experiencing cancer. You will learn from their experiences and have opportunities to share your own coping methods and practical information.
I joined the support group to learn coping strategies post treatment and continue to attend for the community support. The participants and facilitators have so much insight, understanding and advice that makes me feel not alone in my cancer journey.
Charlotte, acute promyelocytic leukemia survivor from Alberta

LLSC support groups are offered virtually to ensure programs are available to all Canadians. 

Virtual Support Groups
 

In the comfort of your home, meet with other people affected by a blood cancer to connect with others who are going through a similar experience.

  • Discuss various topics related to your situation
  • Share personal learning
  • Encourage each other
  • Professionally facilitated

The Virtual Support Group programs run from September to June each year.

British Columbia Virtual Support Groups

General Blood Cancer Support Group

  • Every second Wednesday of the month
  • Hosted at 6:30pm PST
  • Spaces are limited

For more information and to register, please contact:

604-909-4126
natasha.sani@lls.org

Prairies Virtual Support Groups

General Blood Cancer Support Group

  • Every second Tuesday of the month
  • Hosted at 6:00pm MDT / 7:00pm CST
  • Spaces are limited

For more information and to register, please contact:

403-451-6127
katharine.yurkiw@lls.org

Eastern Canada Virtual Support Group

  • For those living with or caring for a loved one with an Acute blood cancer, Lymphoma, Myeloma, Myelodysplastic syndrome, or Myeloproliferative Neoplasm
    • Every third Wednesday of the month
    • Hosted at 6 PM EST / 7:00 PM AT / 7:30 PM NT
    • Spaces are limited.

For more information and to register, please contact:

647-253-5542
geoffrey.molle@lls.org

National Chronic Leukemia Support Group

  • For those living with or caring for a loved one with a Chronic Leukemia.
    • CLL or CML
    • Every first Wednesday of the month
    • Hosted at 3:00pm PST / 6:00 PM EST / 7:00 PM AT / 7:30 PM NT
    • Spaces are limited.

For more information and to register, please contact:

403-451-5430 
desiree.naylor@lls.org

Advanced Cancer Virtual Support Group

  • Once a week (Wednesdays) for six weeks: March 6 to April 10, 2024 2 pm PST / 5 pm EST / 6 pm ATL
  • For individuals living with advanced blood cancer (not end of life).
  • Or persons living with a blood cancer that is non-curative (not end of life).
  • Facilitated by counsellor specializing in advanced cancer
  • Spaces are limited. 

For more information and to register, please contact: 

604-909-4126
Natasha.Sani@lls.org

Sign up early

We limit the number of people joining our support groups so that each participant feels supported in an intimate setting. Please sign up early to ensure you can join the group that’s right for you.

Didn’t find what you were looking for?