Every year, we form a group of medical experts

who have the task of reviewing research projects from the grant applications we receive for our annual competition.
The LLSC can count on it's expert committees to evaluate each research project submitted, to be sure we invest in the most promising research.
Alicia Talarico, President
Jason Berman
Dr. Jason Berman, MD, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
Chair, Medical & Scientific Advisory Committee
Dr. Jason Berman is the CEO and Scientific Director of the CHEO Research Institute and the Vice-President Research at CHEO. He is a Full Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Cellular and Molecular Medicine at the University of Ottawa. Jason is a pediatric hematologist/oncologist and clinician scientist internationally recognized for pioneering research using zebrafish to study leukemia and cancer predisposition syndromes. He has had leadership roles in a number of national and international clinical trials for childhood cancer, including chairing the most recent Children's Oncology Group trial for the myeloid leukemia of Down syndrome. He sits on a number of provincial and national cancer research advisory boards. He is passionate about translating research findings from the bench to the bedside to improve the outcome and quality of life for individuals suffering from blood cancers.

Medical & Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Jennifer Marley, Chair, LLSC Board of Directors

  • Alicia Talarico, LLSC President

  • Nadine Prevost, Business Unit Director, Research & Community Support

  • Paul O'Connell, Research Program Lead

  • Stephanie Mazzei, LLSC Board Member

  • Frederic Chevalier, LLSC Board Member

  • Dr. Jason Berman, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario, LLSC Medical & Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Dr. Rena Buckstein, Odette Cancer Centre, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

  • Dr. Rodney Dekoter, University of Western Ontario

  • Dr. Jean-Sebastien Delisle,Université de Montréal, Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRIC), Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont

  • Terry Hawrysh, Community Partner

  • Dr. Trang Hoang, Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRIC)

  • Dr. Aly Karsan, BC Cancer Agency

  • Dr. Armand Keating, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, University of Toronto

  • Dr. Samantha Mayo, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Toronto, Ontario

  • Dr. Paola Neri, Annie Charbonneau Cancer Institute, University of Calgary

  • Dr. Warren Pear, University of Pennsylvania

  • Dr. Aaron Schimmer, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, University of Toronto

  • Dr. Christian Steidl, BC Cancer Agency

  • Dr. Andrew Weng, BC Cancer Agency